Billinge Wins 2018 Warren Award

Simon J. L. Billinge, Professor of Materials Science, was selected to receive the 2018 Warren Award of the American Crystallographic Association.

The award is given in recognition of "an important recent contribution to the physics of solids or liquids using X-ray, neutron, or electron diffraction techniques. Works published within a six-year period ending June 30 of the year preceding the Award may be nominated. A monetary award of $1,500, and up to $1,500 travel expenses to accept the award at Annual Meeting, and a certificate are awarded every third year. Established in 1970 by students and friends of Professor B.E. Warren on the occasion of his retirement from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology." (

Billinge was also chosen to present two talks for the 2018 Busse Lecture Series of the University of Wisconsin School of Pharmacy.

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University