2011 SEAS Faculty Excellence Celebration


APAM Professors Guillaume Bal, Katayun Barmak, Simon Billinge, Dirk Englund, Latha Venkatarman, and Chris Wiggins were honored at the SEAS annual celebration of faculty excellence on Wednesday, October 19, "acclaiming the awards, honors, and recognitions that SEAS faculty received during the past year."

Program: 2011 Celebrating Faculty Excellence

Nine New Named Professors Honored, Columbia Engineering News

Photo gallery

Guillaume Bal
Professor of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics

The Calderón Prize
Given by the Inverse Problems International Association for a researcher under the age of 40 who has made distinguished contributions to the field of inverse problems broadly defined
Katayun Barmak
Philips Electronics Professor of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics

Named Professor
Nine New Named Professors Honored / New Electronics Professor

Best Paper
Editor Selection, Physical Review B for a viewpoint on
“Critical events, entropy, and the grain Boundary Character Distribution”

Simon Billinge
Professor of Materials Science and of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics

J. D. Hanawalt Prize
Awarded by the International Center for Diffraction Data for contributions to x-ray powder diffraction

Fulbright Research Scholar
To study spatially and temporally resolved local structure studies in advanced fundamental materials

Dirk Englund
Assistant Professor of Electrical Engineering and of Applied Physics

Presidential Early Career Award for Scientists and Engineers (PECASE) - Department of Defense Nominee
For his pioneering contributions to the theory and experiment of photonic nanostructures for controllable light/matter interactions at the level of single photons and single emitters, and for his development of quantum optics in semiconductor chips for applications in quantum information processing, quantum metrology, and novel optoelectronic devices and systems for optical interconnects

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship
In recognition of and to support his work in chip-based networks for quantum optics

Latha Venkataraman
Assistant Professor of Applied Physics

Alfred P. Sloan Research Fellowship
In recognition of and to support her work in examining the interplay of physics, chemistry, and engineering at the nanometer scale and on probing, manipulation, and control of single molecules as active elements in electrical circuits

Chris Wiggins
Associate Professor of Applied Mathematics

Named as one of Business Insider’s Silicon Alley 100: New York’s Coolest Tech People in 2010
Recognized for founding HackNY and efforts to foster engineering talent in New York City

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email: apam@columbia.edu

©2012 Columbia University