2016 Faculty Excellence Celebration

Sep 20 2016
APAM Faculty and Staff were honored at the 2016 Faculty Excellence Celebration hosted by the SEAS Dean's office on September 20, 2016.

"We congratulate our colleagues on their outstanding research and scholarship, which have been rightly acknowledged by some of the world’s most prestigious institutions and organizations, as well as their excellence in teaching, recognized by Columbia University. Their research continues to break new ground in many fields and will have a huge impact on developing solutions for some of the biggest challenges facing humanity today—from sustainability to human health, from our increasing connectivity to ensuring our security and to empowering creativity. These breakthroughs in engineering and applied science are transforming society." - Dean Boyce  

Named Professor: IRVING P. HERMAN
Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Applied Physics  
Promotion to Full Professor: LATHA VENKATARAMAN
Professor of Applied Physics    
Faculty Early Career Award: NANFANG YU
Assistant Professor of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics  

Young Investigator Award, U.S. Office of Naval Research (ONR) for exceptionally creative research with far-reaching implications for technological needs of the Navy and the Department of Defense through his project, “Phase-Change Correlated Perovskites as a New Platform for Photonics”        

Singular Honor: CHIA-KUN CHU
Fu Foundation Professor Emeritus of Applied Mathematics in the Faculty of Engineering and Applied Science;
Special Lecturer in Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics  

Columbia Impact Award, Asian Columbia Alumni Association for pioneering work in the fields of computational fluid dynamics and computational magnetohydrodynamics  

Scholarly Leadership: MICHAEL MAUEL
Professor of Applied Physics  

Editor-in-chief, Physics of Plasmas, American Institute of Physics        

Singular Honor: RICHARD M. OSGOOD JR.
Higgins Professor Emeritus of Electrical Engineering and Professor Emeritus of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics  

National Academy of Inventors for demonstrating “a highly prolific spirit of innovation in creating or facilitating outstanding inventions that have made a tangible impact on quality of life, economic development, and welfare of society”              

Joint Honor:
, Research Scientist of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics
Senior Research Scientist and Adjunct Professor of Applied Physics  

Landau-Spitzer Award, presented jointly by the American Physical Society (APS ) and the European Physical Society (EPS) presented every two years to an individual or group for outstanding theoretical, experimental, or technical contributions in plasma physics, and for advancing the collaboration and unity between the European Union and the United States.