Alumni Updates '11-'12

  • Jie Gao (Ph.D. '12 Applied Physics) is an Assistant Professor in the Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering Department at the Missouri University of Science and Technology.
  • Stacey Hirsch (B.S. '06 Applied Physics) is currently a Ph.D. candidate at the University of Sydney, Australia. She was awarded the Ken Doolan Memorial Prize ($1,000) by the Australian Institute of Physics (AIP). Stacey received the prize for her research demonstrating the use of a novel, linker-free covalent immobilization method for the controlled immobilization of protein mixtures. Adsorption from protein mixtures is difficult to control because competitive protein exchange results in undesired layer instabilities both in the structure and composition of the surface adsorbed protein layer. Overcoming this problem, she demonstrated that rapid linker-free covalent binding provided with surface activation from plasma treatment enables the control of the attached protein composition through a combination of parameters, including the manipulation of the protein flux to surface and the covalent binding time. The proteins are also attached in their native conformation, which preserves their function when immobilized on the surface. She also showed industrial applications of controlled protein mixture immobilization, including bioreactors for ethanol fuel production from cellulose waste resources (cardboard and agricultural waste) and medical devices with improved biocompatibility. This work has been published in Langmuir and the Journal of Materials Chemistry.
  • Timothy M. Merlis (B.S. '06 Applied Mathematics) presented a talk at the SEAS Colloquium in Climate Science on January 26 on the “Response of Tropical Climate to Greenhouse Gas Changes and Orbital Forcing”. He completed his Ph.D. in Environmental Science and Engineering at the California Institute of Technology and is currently a postdoctoral fellow at the Princeton Center for Theoretical Science and Geophysical Fluid Dynamics Laboratory.
  • William T. Sha’s (Eng.Sc.D. '64 Nuclear Engineering) book, Novel Porous Media Formulation for Multiphase Flow Conservation Equations, was published by Cambridge University Press in September 2011. Dr. Sha was a senior scientist at the Argonne National Laboratory and the former Director of the Analytic Thermal Hydraulic Research Program and the Multiphase Flow Research Institute. He has published over 290 papers, primarily in the field of thermal hydraulics. He is the recipient of many awards, including the 2005 Technical Achievement Award from the Thermal Hydraulic Division (THD) of the American Nuclear Society (ANS), the 2006 Glenn T. Seaborg Medal, the 2007 Samuel Untermyer II Medal and the 2008 Reactor Technology Award, all from the ANS.
  • Gideon Simpon (Ph.D. '09 Applied Mathematics) presented a talk at the Applied Mathematics Colloquium on February 21 on the “Analysis of Parallel Replica Dynamics”. He was a postdoctoral fellow in the Department of Mathematics at the University of Toronto and is currently a PIRE/DOE Postdoctoral Fellow at the School of Mathematics in the College of Science and Engineering at the University of Minnesota.
  • Ramon Verastegui (Ph.D. '06 Applied Mathematics) spoke about his experience as a student and alumnus at a special reception for doctoral degree students, alumni, and postsdocs on October 3, hosted by Columbia Engineering as part of the “Graduate Engineers Connect” initiatives.

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University