Celebrating Faculty Excellence

Sep 27 2019

APAM faculty members were honored at the 2019 Faculty Excellence celebration hosted by Dean Boyce. The annual event celebrates the major awards, named professorships, promotions, and elections to professional societies.

  • Michael Lipson was recognized for her election to the National Academy of Sciences (NAS), for receiving the NAS Comstock Prize in Physics, and for winning the 2019 Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) Photonics Award.
  • Alexander Gaeta was recognized for winning the 2019 Optical Society Charles Hard Townes Award and for his election as an IEEE Fellow.
  • I.C. Noyan was recognized for winning the 2019 Hanawalt Award.
  • Latha Venkataraman was recognized as the new Lawrence Gussman Professor of Applied Physics.
  • Siu-Wai Chan was recognized for her election as an Americal Physical Society (APS) Fellow.
  • Kui Ren was recognized for receiving tenure.
  • Kyle Mandli was recognized for his promotion to Associate Professor (on tenure track).