Chan Elected APS Fellow

Siu-Wai Chan, Professor of Materials Science and Engineering, was elected a 2018 Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS).

Citation: "For observing and understanding the grain boundary dislocation motion in materials, providing a seminal impact on superconducting thin film boundary devices, and inventing a novel ecological synthesis technique of nano-crystals oxides for catalysis applications."

Other American Physical Society Fellows from the APAM Department include:

Simon Billinge
Allen Boozer
C.K. Chu
Alexander Gaeta
Irving Herman
Thomas Marshall
Michael Mauel
Gerald Navratil
Gertrude Neumark
I.C. Noyan
Richard Osgood
Aron Pinczuk
Lorenzo Polvani
Steve Sabbagh
Amiya Sen
Horst Stormer
Latha Venkataraman
Wen Wang
Chris Wiggins

A full list of APS Fellows can be found on the APS Fellows Archive

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University