Herman Named Columbia University Senator

Irving P. Herman, the Edwin Howard Armstrong Professor of Applied Physics, began serving his two-year term as a member of the Columbia University Senate in May, 2017.

The Senate makes policy, with Trustee concurrence, on issues that affect the entire University or more than one school, including educational programs, budgets, and the welfare of faculty, students and other members of the University community. It has 108 voting seats, with 63 reserved for faculty and the remaining for students and other constituencies. Prof. Herman is one of the four senators elected from the tenured SEAS faculty.

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email: apam@columbia.edu

©2012 Columbia University