Kim Wins 2012 James R. Holton Award from AGU

Prof. Adam Sobel's postdoc, Dr. Daehyun Kim, has won the 2012 James R. Holton Award from the American Geophysical Union (AGU) for "outstanding scientific research and accomplishments of early-career scientists in the field."

Dr. Kim's research focuses on diagnosis, modeling and parameterization of tropical convection, with a specialization in intraseasonal variability and the Madden-Julian oscillation. Since earning his Ph.D. in 2010, Dr. Kim has established himself as one of the leading researchers in this area.

In 2004, the Atmospheric Sciences Section of the AGU established a Section Award for junior Atmospheric Scientists, the James R. Holton Award. This award is named in honor of James R. Holton, an outstanding atmospheric scientist, educator, and mentor. During his 38 years on the faculty at the University of Washington, he taught, advised and mentored a large number of students and junior scientists, and was awarded every major honor available in the atmospheric sciences including AGU's Revelle Medal. The Award consists of a certificate, $1000, and dinner at the Section Banquet during the Fall Meeting, where the award will be presented.

Dr. Daehyun is the 9th recipient of the Holton award and follows in the footsteps of two other faculty members at Columbia University. Arlene Fiore, Associate Professor Earth and Environmental Sciences, won the award in 2005 and Tiffany Shaw, Assistant Professor in the Department of Applied Physics and Applied Mathematics and the Department of Earth and Environmental Sciences, won the award in 2011.

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University