Photos: APAM Professors Honored at SEAS Faculty Excellence Celebration

SEAS faculty members were honored at the annual Faculty Excellence Celebration on October 23, 2013, at Casa Italiana. APAM honorees included:

William Bailey: Honorary Professorship
Invited Professor, Universite Joseph Fourier, Grenoble

Daniel Bienstock: Election to Professional Society
Fellow, Institute for Operations Research and the Management Sciences (INFORMS)
For outstanding lifetime achievement in operations research and the managements sciences

Simon Billinge: Recognition/Achievement Award
Neutron Scattering Society of America (NSSA) Service Award

Mark Cane
Election to National Academy of Sciences
Elected a member of the National Academy of Sciences in recognition of his distinguished and continuing achievements in original research
Recipient of 2013 Ewing Medal

Given by the American Geophysical Union for significant original contributions to the scientific understanding of the processes in the ocean; for the advancement of oceanographic engineering, technology, and instrumentation; and for outstanding service to the marine sciences

Chris Marianetti: Faculty Early Career Development Award
DARPA Young Faculty Award
Given to rising research stars in junior faculty positions at U.S. academic institutions to expose them to the needs of the Department of Defense and DARPA's program development process

Richard Osgood, Jr: Special Recognition
Most downloaded review articles on optical fibers in journals published by the Optical Society over the past two years.
for "Engineering Nonlinearities in Nanoscale Optical Systems: Physics and Applications in Dispersion-Engineered Silicon Nanophotonic Wires," coauthored with N. C. Panoiu, J. I. Dadap, X. Liu, X. Chen, I. Hsieh, E. Dulkeith, W. M. Green, and Y. A. Vlasov

Tiffany Shaw: Faculty Early Career Development Award
Packard Fellowship
To support her research on moisture transport and its interaction with large-scale flow patterns and the impact of climate change
NSF Career Award
to support her research on the role of moisture transport in the Northern Hemisphere summer circulation and its variability and future change

Francesco Volpe
: Honorary Professorship

Visiting Professor, Kyoto University

Michael Weinstein: Scholarly Leadership
Keynote speaker, Conference on Nonlinear Waves, Chinese Academy of Sciences

Chris Wiggins
: Special Recognition

Panel Organizer, SXSW Interactive Conference 2012
for "Keeping Kids off the Street; Wall St. vs. Startups"

Photos by Eileen Barroso, Engineering News

Related article:
Celebrating Faculty Excellence


500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University