Stormer Honored at CESAA's Awards Dinner

Three prominent Columbians will be honored by the Columbia Engineering School Alumni Association at their annual awards dinner on Tuesday, Nov. 11 in Low Library Rotunda. Nobel Laureate Horst Störmer, professor of applied physics and I.I. Rabi Professor of physics, and Harry B. Gray, Beckman Professor of Chemistry and founding Director of the Beckman Institute at California Institute of Technology will receive the Pupin Medal for service to the nation. Matthys Levy '56MS will receive the Egleston Medal for distinguished engineering achievement. Columbia Engineering School Alumni Association President Chester Lee said, "We are privileged to honor three such distinguished Columbians, each of whom has played an important part in the life of the Engineering School and the University."

Both Störmer and Gray have influenced the education and careers of numerous students. As an alumnus, Levy, who was a student and protégé of legendary Columbia professor Mario Salvadori, has brought recognition to the Engineering School by his significant landmark structures in the built environment of cities around the world.

Horst Störmer, who joined Columbia in 1998 after 20 years at AT&T's Bell Labs, is the scientific director of Columbia's NSF Nanoscale Science and Engineering Center (NSEC) where he conducts research into the electrical conductivity of single molecules. In 1998, he shared the Nobel Prize in physics for his part in the "discovery of a new form of quantum fluid with fractionally charged excitations."

Originally published by Columbia Engineering News

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email:

©2012 Columbia University