Ying Wins 2011 Julian David Baumert Ph.D. Thesis Award

Andrew Ying (Ph.D. 10/2010, Materials Science and Engineering) is the winner of the 2011 Julian David Baumert Ph.D. Thesis Award given by the National Synchrotron Light Source (NSLS) at the Brookhaven National Laboratory. This award, given to a researcher who has recently conducted a thesis project that included measurements at the NSLS, was established in memory of Julian David Baumert, a young Brookhaven Research Associate who worked on x-ray studies of soft-matter interfaces at the NSLS before his death in June 2006.

Dr. Ying, who was nominated by his advisor, Prof. I. C. Noyan, will receive the award at the 2011 Joint NSLS/CFN Users’ Meeting on Tuesday, May 24, 2011. The award includes an honorarium, travel expenses to the meeting, and the winner’s name engraved on a plaque located in the NSLS. Following the award presentation by the Photon Sciences Deputy Operations Director, Dr. Ying will give a brief talk about the work performed for his thesis entitled “A Rigorous Analysis of the Applicability of Kinematical X-Ray Diffraction Theory to Nanostructure Characterization.”

500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email: apam@columbia.edu

©2012 Columbia University