2012 SEAS Faculty Excellence Celebration

APAM Professors Simon Billinge, Dirk Englund, Chris Marianetti, and Francesco Volpe were recognized at the 2012 SEAS Faculty Excellence Celebration. The annual event honored those professors who have received awards, honors, and prizes over the past academic year.

The program also included a special tribute to Morton B. Friedman, senior vice dean emeritus and longtime professor of the Engineering School. In his honor, the School is renaming the Dean’s Conference Room as the Morton B. Friedman Conference Room.

Complete list of awards, honors, and recognitions












Simon Billinge
Special Recognition
Honored in 2011 as one of 24 Outstanding Immigrants by Carnegie Foundation of New York
Notable Professional Recognitions
Co-editor of the Journal Acta Crystallographica Section A: Foundations of Crystallography

Dirk Englund
DARPA Young Faculty Award
to support his research on chip-integrated timing and inertial measurements
IBM Faculty Award
give to junior faculty at leading universities worldwide who show unusual promise to foster collaboration with IBM researchers

Chris Marianetti

NSF Faculty Early Career Development Award
to support his research on using quantum mechanical simulations to engineer thin film materials via strain

Francesco Volpe
2012 Torkil Jensen Award
given by General Atomics Fusion Energy Research to support his research on cancer therapy with fusion neutrons, an experimental topic outside the areas usually covered by the DIII-D experimental program

Photos by Eileen Barosso









500 W. 120th St., Mudd 200, MC 4701 New York, NY 10027 / Phone: 212-854-4457 / Fax: 212-854-8257 / Email: apam@columbia.edu

©2012 Columbia University